Is your diamond jewelry still sparkling

The diamond

The diamond - The most popular and beautiful version of a gemstone. Strictly speaking, the term "diamond" is the cubic shape of carbon. Due to the high refraction of light, the gemstone sparkles in the most beautiful facets. The diamond is the hardest natural substance on earth and is one of the reasons why it is used, among other things, for engraving jewelry and wedding rings.

The 4 diamond criteria:
In order to be able to determine the value and quality of a diamond, it is examined according to the internationally established 4 C’s:

Cut (Cut)
Color (Colour)
Clarity (Purity)
Carat (Diamond weight)

1. Cut
In order for a diamond to get its characteristic sparkling effect, it needs the right cut. The facets (diamond surfaces) allow a wonderful refraction of light if they are in a harmonious relationship between size and inclination.

2. Color
To make a diamond shine optimally, it should be as colorless as possible. The more colorless the diamond, the more the refracted light can shine out of the stone and sparkle.
The degree of color is measured in letters starting with D (highest quality) to Z (worst quality).

D, E and F: colorless
D, E and F are the highest grades a diamond can achieve in the color category. These diamonds are very rare and very expensive because they are considered completely colorless.

G and H: almost colorless
G and H diamonds are particularly white. The color difference to the higher levels can hardly be determined. You can only see a tint from the side. If you look at the diamond from above, you cannot see any discoloration.

I and J: tinted white
If a diamond belongs to grade I or J, a slight discoloration of the stone can be seen. These levels form the middle field of the color quality of a diamond.

3. Clarity
The purity of a diamond describes the visibility of the inclusions that occur. The smaller and the fewer inclusions a diamond has, the more unhindered the light can shine through the diamond and the beauty of the gemstone is not impaired. It is almost impossible to find a diamond without inclusions. This probability decreases as the size of the diamond increases. Finding a small flawless diamond (e.g. 0.1 ct) is much more likely than finding a large flawless diamond (e.g. 2 ct). This is why the price per carat for flawless stones (highest level of purity) increases exponentially.

4th carat
Contrary to what many might imagine, carat describes not the size but the weight of a diamond. 1 carat (abbreviation: ct) corresponds to 0.2 grams, so a diamond weighing 1 gram has 5 ct.

The smallest common cut diamond sizes:
0.01 ct
0.05 ct
0.1 ct
0.2 ct

The most common cut diamond sizes:
0.25 ct = quarter carat
0.3 ct = intermediate size
0.33 ct = third carat
0.5 ct = half carat
1 ct = one carat (classic)

The value and thus also the price of a diamond is made up of a balanced quality in the 4 categories (Cut, color, clarity and carat) together. The more accurately cut, the more colorless, the fewer inclusions and the larger the diamond, the more valuable and expensive it is.
Accordingly, a 1 carat can vary in price due to its performance in the other categories. A 1 carat with a poor cut, many inclusions and the color I can cost less than a flawless 0.5 carat with an excellent cut and the color D.

We recommend that you do your research before buying a diamond ring and ask exactly about the corresponding quality criteria. These should be proven by the GIA / HRD / IGI certification. You can find more about the diamond certificates here.