Are the 7 deadly sins biblical

What are the seven deadly sins?

Many people fear a list of seven sins that God is said not to forgive. This listing is known as the "seven deadly sins". Is the idea of ​​the "seven deadly sins" biblical? Yes and no. Proverbs 6: 16-19 says, “These six things the Lord hates, and seven are an abomination to His soul: (1) proud eyes, (2) false tongue, (3) hands that shed innocent blood, (4) ) a heart that makes evil plans, (5) feet that run quickly to evil, (6) a false witness who speaks lies, and (7) who throws discord between brothers ". However, this listing is not what most people understand as the "seven deadly sins".

Most people understand the "seven deadly sins" as: pride, envy, obsession, lust, anger, envy, and laziness. While all of these are undeniably sins, they are never described as the "seven deadly sins" in the Bible. The traditional list of the "seven deadly sins" can work well as a way of categorizing the various sins that exist. Almost any kind of sin can be placed under one of the seven categories. Most importantly, we recognize that these seven sins are no more "more deadly" than any other sin. Every sin results in death (Romans 6:23). Praise be to God that all our sins, including the "seven deadly sins", can be forgiven through Jesus Christ (Matt 26:28; Acts 10:43; Ephesians 1: 7).


Back to the German homepage

What are the seven deadly sins?
Share this page: